help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart
HomeBlogsRead Post

News & Updates

2021 School Board Candidate Information
By Carol S Howe
Posted: 2021-10-10T20:36:00Z
School Board Elections are the Name of the Game in 2021


School Districts in all three of the counties served by the League of Women Voters of the Uncompahgre Valley are holding elections for School District Boards of Education. 

Off-year elections typically do not have record turnouts. This year that needs to change. Whether you are a parent, grandparent, or just a community member without kids in the public schools in our areas - YOU NEED TO GET INFORMED AND YOU NEED TO VOTE - because you are members of this community. 

Here is information by county to help you focus on your local races and get information about the candidates. Please share this with your friends and family. Additional information for all local races can be found on 

(Note:  Please encourage your candidate(s) to submit their information to if it is currently not there.)

We will update this blog as new information becomes available.

Delta County

Delta County School District 50J has six candidates running for two open seats.  Both seats have four-year terms:


District 1 (Delta area) (Links to candidate information go to Delta County Independent articles.)

Kristine Hines   (also see for bio)

Shannon Crespin

District 5
(North Fork area)

Luke McCrain

Brian Kopko

Jennifer McGavin  (also see for bio)

Nicole Milner

In the News: 

Delta County Independent Article 9/29/21 "The Race is on for Two School Board Vacancies"

KVNF Oct 6, 2021 Regional Newscast - Summary of Delta School Board candidate answers to KVNF request for info-

Delta County School District Candidate Forum Oct. 6, 2021, 6:30 p.m. Video (from   Link to Video

High Country Shopper article - "Meet the Candidates - Two Seats on the Delta County School Board"

Montrose County

Montrose County School District RE-1J has eight candidates running for five open seats. 

Candidates (links to candidate biographies are from

District A (4-year term) –  Jeff Bachman

District C (4-year term) –  Andrew Neal

                                             Alice F Murphy  (also see  for bio)

District E (4-year term) – Cortney Loyd

                                             Sarah Fishering  (also see  for bio)

District F (2-year term) –  Dawn Schieldt

                                             Eric Kelley  (also see  for bio)

District G (4-year term) – Stephen Bush

In The News

The Forum 9/29/21 Video of Montrose School Board Candidates Link to Video

KVNF 10/08/21 Local Motion:  Montrose School Board Candidates

Montrose Daily Press Article, 10/16/2021 "Meet the 2021 School Board Candidates"

Candidate Forum for Montrose County School Board of Education, co-sponsored by LWV of the Uncompahgre Valley and Uncompahgre Valley Education Association, Oct. 18, 2021, 6 – 8 p.m., Ute Indian Museum
Blog available Link to Blog
Video available on Uncompahgre Valley Education Association Facebook page  Link to Video Part 1 Link to Video Part 2


West End School District RE-2 has three candidates running for three open seats.

Mary Suhr
Stanley Galley
Melissa Johnson

Note:  no additional information for candidates was available

Ouray County

Ridgway School District R-2
has six candidates who are running for three open seats.

Michael Perkovich

                    Jill Hepp

                   Brian M. Patton (incumbent)

                   Tony Criscuolo (see for bio)

                   Pam Foyster  (see  for bio)

                   Alicia Lauren Skoko

In the News

Upcoming Candidate Forum for Ridgway School District R-2 Board of Education co-sponsored by Ridgway-Ouray Community Council and D3, Oct. 20, 6:30 – 8 p.m. Via Zoom.  Link to event Event Sponsored by ROCC and D3 - Ridgway School Board Candidate Forum - 10/20/2021